Don't Miss >

2017 Report – National Technical University of Athens, School of Architecture

By on June 17, 2017
General Information
National Technical University of Athens

School of Architecture

Greece Athens

Person filling out the report
Sofia Avgerinou Kolonias

Associated UNI Thematic Hubs
Informal Urbanism
Urban Regeneration
Safer Cities
Urban Governance
Urban Form

Other academic network affiliations
Erasmus, Erasmus+

Other research network affiliations
Ports in Transition research network

Collaborations with UNI members in academic activities

Collaborations with UNI members in research initiatives


Undergraduate Programmes
The School of Architeecture offers a five year degree programme which leads to a Master (see below).

Master Programmes
The Graduate studies at the NTUA School of Architecture last five academic years and equal to a Master degree (MA). The main aim of our Curriculum is an education that will mold professionals who will possess structured views on architecture, will understand in-depth the social realities they will be facing when in practice, will have attained the necessary technical knowledge and building expertise and will have sharpened their senses and spirit so as to be able to meet in a complete manner the developing architectural ideas.

The programme includes five basic thematic areas of courses, according to their syllabus: Design – Theory, History-theory, General Education, Visual Expression and Representation, Urban and Regional Planning and Architectural Technology.

PhD Programmes
The School of Architecture does not offer a taught programme of doctorate studies. Ph.D is a degree conducted by research. The topics of the doctorate theses are chosen freely by the candidates and, prior to their acceptance, are checked as to whether they fall within the cognitive scope and broader aims of the School. In any case, the theses that are completed constitute a contribution to science and, directly and indirectly, an offering to society.

However, departments organise annual doctoral seminars, which include both invited lectures and presentation of work in progress by the doctorate students. In addition, departmental laboratories offer research support and make every effort to include doctorate candidates in research projects. The latter function is severely hit by the cuts in research funds.

The School announces publicly places for doctoral candidates, in accordance with the scope of the research foci and aims of its four departments. The particular topics are chosen by each candidate and evaluated according to a set of criteria and, mainly, a statement of intent. For each candidate accepted, a three-member Advisory Committee is appointed who follows the development of the dissertation and submits annual reports. Completion of the dissertation is testified by the submission of a final report by the Advisory Committee; it is then examined in public by a seven-member Examining Committee (which includes the Advisory members).

Other Programmes
Since 1998, the School of Architecture co-ordinates two Interdisciplinary Postgraduate Programmes: “Architecture – Spatial Design” and “Protection of Monuments”, in collaboration with other Schools of the NTUA (Civil Engineering, Applied Mathematics and Physics, Surveying and Mechanical Engineering). In each of these Programmes there are two parallel options (see description below). These programmes lead to a Postgraduate Degree of Specialisation , after the completion of a number of requirements which include taught courses and seminars and submission of a postgraduate thesis.

Produced Materials




Additional Comments